North Carolina Drunk Driving Accident Guidelines Attorney
Drunk driving accidents are a major problem across the U.S., including in North Carolina, where there were 1,289 traffic fatalities due to drunk driving in 2013, according to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) data.
Drunk driving accidents differ from other automobile collisions in two major ways. First, driving under the influence (DUI) is against the law in all states, including North Carolina. Second, the accident was preventable, because drunk driving is a conscious choice to break the law. If you were hit by a drunk driver, the North Carolina drunk driving accident attorneys at Nagle & Associates, P.A. are well equipped to handle your personal injury case and help you pursue maximum compensation for your damages.
To be charged with DUI in North Carolina, a driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) must register as follows:
- Drivers under 21 – .00 percent (Zero tolerance).
- Drivers 21 or older – .08 percent.
- Commercial drivers – .04 percent.
If you are a victim of a drunk driving accident in North Carolina, you may be entitled to recover expenses related to medical care, property damage, and pain and suffering, including emotional distress. Victims of car accidents that involve willful or wanton conduct like drunk driving may also be entitled to seek punitive damages. The state of North Carolina specifically warns against drunk driving and allows the potential recovery of punitive damages as a way to deter drunk driving.
Our Winston-Salem Auto Accident Attorneys Help Those Injured in Drunk Driving Accidents
Were you seriously injured in an accident involving a drunk driver? Contact the North Carolina drunk driving accident attorneys at Nagle& Associates, P.A. online or call (800) 411-1583 to set up your free initial consultation today.