North Carolina Car Accidents and Uninsured Motorists


North Carolina Car Accidents and Uninsured Motorists

Car Accident In North CarolinaExperts estimate that as many as 14 percent of North Carolina motorists are driving without insurance. These drivers are known as uninsured motorists, and there is a relatively good chance that you will be involved in an accident with such a driver during your lifetime.

It is illegal to drive in North Carolina without liability insurance. Our laws require that the owner of a motor vehicle carry a specific amount of liability insurance to legally operate their vehicle in the state, and the state’s minimum car insurance requirements are:

  • $30,000 for the injury or death of a single person.
  • $60,000 total for all damages arising from a single accident.
  • $25,000 for any property damage caused by an accident.

Many drivers carry only this minimum amount of coverage. However, when a car insurance policy is issued, the owner of the vehicle has the option to carry much higher coverage limits. We recommend that all drivers carry at least $100,000 per person & $300,000 per accident in bodily injury liability insurance coverage.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage in North Carolina

North Carolina also requires that every car insurance policy sold in the state include uninsured motorist coverage (a/k/a UM coverage) in an amount at least equal to the highest bodily injury liability coverage on the policy. The lowest amount of uninsured motorist coverage available in North Carolina is typically 30/60, meaning coverage of $30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident.

Uninsured motorist coverage protects drivers in the event that they’re involved in an accident with an at-fault driver who has no insurance. This type of coverage will pay for a driver’s injuries, as well as those of any passengers in the car at the time of the accident, and injuries to you or any relative living in your household — even if your automobile was not involved in the accident.

UM coverage is stackable in North Carolina! Thus, the victim who suffers injury caused by a hit & run driver or an uninsured driver can use the uninsured motorist coverage on the vehicle they were riding in during the accident PLUS the UM coverage on their own personal auto policy PLUS the UM coverage for each and every car insurance policy owned by anyone who is related to the victim by blood or marriage who resided with the victim at the time of the accident. In serious injury cases, always secure the help of an experienced insurance lawyer to make sure you access and collect under all available insurance policies.

Contact Our Experienced Raleigh Accident and Injury Lawyers Today

Were you injured in an accident caused by a hit & run driver or an uninsured motorist? Contact the North Carolina personal injury attorneys at Nagle & Associates, P.A. online or call (800) 411-1583 to set up your free initial consultation today.

Scroll to Top