Car Insurance Requirements in North Carolina
After a car accident in North Carolina, if you hope to recover the compensation you need to get through these tough times, you will more than likely need to file a claim with the liable party’s insurance company.
However, dealing with the insurance company after a car accident can be more challenging than many victims realize. Before you head into insurance negotiations, you should understand the North Carolina car insurance requirements, as this could have a dramatic impact on your ability to recover the compensation you are entitled to.
How Insurance Works After a Car Accident in North Carolina
North Carolina is a fault state for car accidents and insurance purposes. This means when you have been involved in an accident, instead of filing a claim with your own auto insurance company, you will file a claim with the liable party’s Insurance company.
Unfortunately, dealing with the insurance company is one of the most challenging aspects of any car accident claim. The insurance company will not want to pay out your claim fairly. Furthermore, you might be surprised to find that the amount of compensation you can recover from the insurance company is far less than previously thought.
This is often true in cases where the liable party does not have enough auto insurance to cover your damages in full. For this reason, it is essential to understand the North Carolina car insurance requirements, as this can give you a better understanding of the minimum amounts and types of coverage required under the law.
North Carolina Car Insurance Requirements
Under North Carolina G.S. 20-309, before a driver can legally operate a motor vehicle, the vehicle must be adequately insured. The following includes the types and minimum amounts of coverage required under the law:
- $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
- $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury liability coverage
- $25,000 in uninsured and underinsured motorist property damage liability coverage
- $25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
In addition to bodily injury liability and property damage coverage, you may also want to consider adding comprehensive and collision, as well as rental car coverage and gap insurance if you finance your vehicle.
Doing so could help protect you financially if you are found liable for causing a collision. Failure to carry enough auto insurance coverage could result in a civil claim being filed against you if you are at fault for the accident.
Contact a North Carolina Car Accident Lawyer
If the liable party did not have enough insurance coverage to meet your needs, you might need to be prepared to pursue civil claims against them as well. Find out what is next for your car accident claim when you reach out to a trusted Raleigh car accident lawyer at Nagle & Associates, P.A.
Our firm proudly offers no-cost, risk-free consultations to car accident victims across North Carolina. Take advantage of this opportunity when you complete our online contact form or call our office at (800) 411-1583.