Dangers of Aggressive and Reckless Driving
Aggressive and reckless driving puts others at risk of an accident that could have been prevented if traffic laws and common sense had been observed. Drivers who cause accidents by driving recklessly can be held liable for the damage and injuries they cause, and if you are the victim of a reckless driving accident, you deserve compensation.
Reckless Driving in North Carolina
In North Carolina, reckless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail, and the charge will likely end up on the offender’s permanent record. A motorist does not have to be driving erratically to be charged with reckless driving in North Carolina. They must only be:
- Driving carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights and safety of others.
- Driving without due caution and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property.
What Does “Manner So As To Endanger” Mean?
According to North Carolina courts, “in a manner so as to endanger” means at least 15 miles per hour over the speed limit where the speed limit is less than 55 miles per hour, but as the speed limit increases, the threshold decreases. In other words, if the speed limit is 65 miles per hour and a driver is caught driving 75 miles per hour, they can be charged with reckless driving.
Reckless Driving Penalties
A reckless driving conviction will add up to four points to the driver’s license of the offender, result in a driver’s license suspension of up to 12 months, and cost up to $1000 in fines and penalties.
Contact Our Charlotte Auto Accident Lawyers Today
If you were injured by an aggressive or reckless driver in Charlotte, North Carolina, get the compensation you deserve. Contact the experienced car accident lawyers at Nagle & Associates, P.A. online or call (800) 411-1583 to set up your free initial consultation today.